Haywood Regional Medical Center Names 2020 Mercy Award Winner

July 20, 2020

Haywood Regional Medical Center (HRMC) recently announced that Debby Bryson has been recognized as the hospital’s 2020 Mercy Award winner. The Mercy Award recognizes one employee from each of LifePoint Health’s hospitals who profoundly touches the lives of others and best represents the spirit and values on which the company was founded.

The Mercy Award is an annual recognition program established in 2002 to honor the life and contributions of Scott Mercy, LifePoint’s founding chairman and chief executive officer. The award is considered the highest honor an individual LifePoint employee can receive.

“At HRMC, we share LifePoint’s commitment to making communities healthier, and we recognize this is supported by the good work and service of our employees on and off the job,” said Chris Fensterle, interim CEO of HRMC. “We are extremely proud to recognize Debby Bryson for her efforts on behalf of our patients and our community. She goes above and beyond each and every day to ensure that every person she encounters receives the highest level of care and compassion.”

Debby Bryson’s role in patient excellence is integral to HRMC’s patient satisfaction and quality care, as she often interacts with patients at their most vulnerable. Bryson touches every corner of the hospital in her work to navigate patient experiences to successful conclusions. In addition, through her work as project coordinator for clinical learning, she helped steer the processes for HRMC’s most recent Chest Pain Center reaccreditation and Cancer Program accreditation. Her hard work helped make sure we could show our region that we are here for their needs; they can be confident in the care they receive here. HRMC is proud to have Debby Bryson on its team in Making Communities Healthier.

Each hospital winner, including Debby Bryson, will be considered for LifePoint’s 2020 companywide Mercy Award. The companywide winner will be announced this summer and honored during a ceremony in Nashville, Tenn., in October, to which Bryson and all other hospital winners are invited to attend.